

# H2020 Programme

# Funding of applicants from non-EU countries & international organisations

Version 2.0 22 September 2016

#### Disclaimer

This document is aimed at assisting applicants for EU funding. It shows the full range of provisions that may be applied to this type of grant agreement, and is provided for information purposes only. The legally binding grant agreement will be that which is signed by the parties for the action.

# History of changes

Version	Date	Change	Page
1.0	14.02.2014	Initial version	
2.0	22.09.2016	<ul> <li>Updated version with new list of Associated Countries and co-funding mechanisms</li> </ul>	

# Horizon 2020 - Open to the world!

These guidelines cover projects involving cooperation between several partner organisations.

There is a separate set of rules for programmes with a single partner organisation, such as European Research Council awards.

#### **General rule**

Applicants from non-EU countries are almost **always** free to *take part* in Horizon 2020 programmes – even if the call for proposals or topic text do not state this explicitly.

They are **not always automatically entitled to funding**.

All applications must meet the minimum conditions in the Rules for Participation

#### What does 'non-EU countries' mean?

This means any country/territory that is **not one of the following**:

- A Member State of the European Union (EU)
- an overseas country or territory linked to an EU country

Applicants from non-EU countries fall into 2 categories:

- those automatically eligible for funding
- those **not automatically eligible** for funding (though they may still be funded in exceptional cases)

#### 1) Non-EU applicants automatically eligible for funding:

Any applicant based in a country which is Associated to Horizon 2020 is automatically eligible for funding.

Additionally, applicants based in any of the countries listed here are automatically eligible for funding under the Horizon 2020 budget:

Afghanistan, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan

Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi

Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic People's Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba

Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic

Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia

Fiji

Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana

Haiti, Honduras

Indonesia, Iran, Iraq

Jamaica, Jordan

Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic), Kosovo\*, Kyrgyz Republic

Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya

Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar

Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria

Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines

Rwanda

Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic

Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu

Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan

Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam

Yemen

Zambia, Zimbabwe.

(\*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence)

## 2) Non-EU applicants that are NOT automatically eligible

Applicants from other non-EU countries may be granted funding if:

- There is a bilateral scientific/technological agreement or similar arrangement between the EU and the country where the applicant is based
- The **call for proposals** clearly states that applicants based in such countries are eligible for funding.
- Their participation is deemed essential for carrying out the action by the Commission or the relevant funding body on the grounds that participation by the applicant has clear benefits for the consortium, such as:
  - o outstanding competence/expertise
  - o access to research infrastructure
  - o access to particular geographical environments
  - o access to data.

## Funding for international organisations

International organisations, the majority of whose members are Member States or associated countries, and whose principal objective is to promote scientific and technological cooperation in Europe, are automatically eligible. Other organisations may be eligible if their participation is deemed **essential for carrying out the action** by the Commission or the relevant funding body

#### Available local support for H2020 participants from non-EU countries

A number of non-EU/non-Associated Countries, that are not automatically eligible for funding, have made specific provisions for making funding available for their participants in Horizon 2020 projects:

- Co-funding mechanism covering most or all thematic areas: China, Hong Kong & Macao, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Taiwan
- Co-funding mechanism covering selected thematic areas: Australia, India, Japan
- Co-funding by region: Brazil, Canada
- Countries without jointly agreed co-funding mechanism: New Zealand, USA

### ~Specific Advice for applicants from non-EU countries

## When is it mandatory for a consortium to include non-EU participants?

Some calls require a consortium to include participants based in specific non-EU countries in order to be eligible. If so, this requirement (and the countries concerned) will be specified in the applicable call for proposals and topic description.

#### How do I register?

Before being able to sign a grant agreement, you must register via the beneficiary registration tool.

Registration (and the subsequent validation by the Commission/Agency) may take a while. When submitting a proposal, you should therefore:

- check which documents are needed for registration
- register as soon as funding becomes likely.

### What legal status and financial capacity are needed?

You must:

- be an individual or organisation/institution constituted under the national law of the country where you are based
- have the financial capacity to carry out the research tasks set out in your proposal.

More information is available on the Horizon 2020 Participant Portal.